Saturday, June 18, 2011

Best NHL Playoffs

It's only been a few days since the end of the NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs and I already miss them.  The last two months have been the best in hockey for as long as I remember.  Through 15 series in the playoffs, 7 went to game 7.  22 total games went to OT.  2 series saw a team go up 3-0 only to see the other team come back to force a game 7.  So much drama and such high level of play throughout made these playoffs arguably the best of all time.

In the first round, 4 of the 8 series went 7 games.  One of those had Vancouver going up 3-0 on the Blackhawks only to have them win 3 straight to force game 7.  That game 7 takes overtime for the Canucks to win.  The Sharks vs. Kings series had 3 of 6 games going to overtime.  It also had the Sharks overcoming a 4-0 defecit in Game 3 to come back and win.  14 of 49 games went to at least one overtime period.  3 of those went to double overtime.  Now that's a ton of drama in the first series.  You would expect for that to be the climax, but lucky for us it wasn't.

Round 2 was rather calm compared to the first except for the Sharks vs Red Wings series.  This was the only series to go 7 games in the round.  Of the 7 games only one was won by more than one goal.  Game 6 was 3-1 Detroit, though the 3rd goal was an empty netter.  The Sharks won the first 3 games and looked to be in control of the series.  Detroit fought back winning the next 3 to force game 7 in San Jose.  San Jose was able to hold on to win it and move on.  Of the 7 games, 2 went to OT.  This was by far the hardest fought series and most dramatic of all time.

The conference finals gave us once again another game 7 in the Eastern Conference.  Boston took 7 to overcome the Lightning.  Tim Thomas had 2 shutouts in this series including Game 7.  In the West, Vancouver was able to get over on San Jose in 5 games.  In Game 5 Vancouver tied it up with 13.2 seconds left in regulation.  The goal should have been negated by a missed icing call.  The Canucks were able to hold on and win on a fluke goal in double OT.  The puck took the weirdest bounce off the glass and caught everyone off guard.  San Jose was sent home disappointed once again.

Now to the Stanley Cup finals.  An epic first 2 games both won by a 1 goal margin by the Canucks in Vancouver.  Game 3 had Aaron Rome of Vancouver taking a cheap shot at Nathan Horton of the Bruins.  Horton was knocked out with a major concussion and never made it back on the ice.  Rome was given a game misconduct then suspended by the league for 4 games.  The Bruins used that incident to fuel them through the rest of the series.  Games 3 and 4 turned out to be blow outs by Boston.  Back to Vancouver for another 1 goal win in overtime.  Game 6 saw another blowout by the Bruins in Boston.  Through 6 games, no visiting team had won a game.  The Bruins had the momentum going into the game, but Vancouver had home ice.  The Bruins got up on Vancouver near the end of the first period.  Thomas then continued his dominance shutting the door on Vancouver for the next 2 periods.  In the end Boston hoisted Lord Stanley's Cup.  Tim Thomas won the MVP.  Vancouver fans rioted.  100 arrests and 150 injured.  A classless way to end a series that showed a lot of classless play by the Canucks.

To Thomas' credit, he was in the net for 25 games this playoff season, with 3 being game 7.  He posted 4 shutouts with 2 of those coming in Game 7's.  He was the rock of the Bruins the entire playoffs and was well deserved of the MVP award.

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Game 7 Goes to the Bruins!

Tomorrow marks the 7th game 7 of these NHL playoffs.  It also marks the first time that the Bruins have ever played a Game 7 in the Stanley Cup finals.  The Canucks faced a Game 7 in Vancouver in the finals in 1994.  That one ended with the Rangers hoisting the Cup on Vancouver ice.  So the question is, how will this game 7 turn out?

Looking at the numbers in this series, the Bruins should have finished off the Canucks already.  All 3 losses came in Vancouver and all 3 were 1 goal losses.  The 3 wins in Boston were all blow outs.  Now why can't they keep up that same intensity on the road as they have at home?  If the Bruins play sound defense and keep hitting the way they have at home, game 7 will be theirs.  If the try and get too fancy on defense as we have seen they are done with.  The key is for them to get an early lead and extend it.  Knock the Canucks out of the game at the start.

The key for the Canucks lays in the hands and skates of the Sedin twins.  They are one of the key factors for the Canucks making it this far.  They both played stellar throughout the playoffs until now.  What happened?  They have both pretty much disappeared.  They have combined for 2 goals and 3 assists in 6 games with a combined -4 rating.  If they keep playing this nonexistent style in Game 7, the Canucks will be left without the Cup once again.  The Sedins need to each get on the scoreboard with either goals or assists if they want to win.  Kessler is injured, Raymond gone, it's time for them to lead the team.

Looking at all of this I think the Bruins will be the team to prevail.  It won't be a blow out like games 3,4, and 6.  I'm thinking it will be a 3-1 final with the 3rd goal coming on an empty netter.  Tim Thomas will win the MVP, as he deserves it whether the Bruins win or lose.  No one has been more consistant in this round than him.

The Cup will be hoisted tomorrow night by the Black and Gold!  It will be back in Boston for the first time since 1972.  Go Bruins!

Monday, June 6, 2011

Is Big Z the Real Problem in Chicago?

Now we all know that Carlos Zambrano is a fiery person who speaks his mind.  We also know that when he does speak his mind it usually leads to good media fodder.  Do these rants destroy the team morale?  Do they cause rifts between him and management?  Does this make Big Z be the real problem in Wrigley?  I don't think so.

The issue with the Cubs is not Zambrano alone.  Yes he may be part of the overall issue, but certainly he is not the only issue that has lead to another dismal season for the Cubs.

The issue with the Cubs starts right at the top of the organization.  When the Ricketts family bought the Cubs, I hoped for a huge change.  Unfortunately this hasn't happened.  Jim Hendry should not be in the organization anymore.  Ryne Sandberg should be the manager of this team, not Mike Quade.  Players relate to coaches that were once players, especially those that played at the level Ryno did.

With a few of the terrible contracts the Cubs have tendered coming off the books after this season, lets all hope for big changes on the North Side.  Not only with players but with management as well.  Mr. Ricketts, please listen to your team's fans.  They know a little more than you think.

Big Z, keep up the rants.  It's about the only thing us fans have to keep us entertained this season.